Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame



For 37 years, the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame was no more than a board of directors operating out of the Denver Chamber of Commerce. Banquet and Selection Committees focused solely on honoring inductees each year at an annual awards dinner. 

A dream was realized in 2001 when the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Museum was born at INVESCO Field at Mile High, now Sports Authority Field at Mile High, with the help of the Metropolitan Football Stadium District. In addition, the Sports Legends Mall and Legacy Pillars were built at the same site to honor each Hall of Fame induction class.  

Since then, there has been the addition of a permanent museum, a website, and the ability to raise funds through the Induction Banquet, the Golf Classic, and the Championship Saturday - 4A and 5A High School Football Championships at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Through these avenues, the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame can give back to the community through programs and support for youth sports. 

Athletics and sports halls of fame are based upon merit, accomplishments and contributions and not on gender, race, religion or quota.

Selection Process

Inductees to the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame are chosen by an independent Selection Committee composed of media representatives from throughout the State of Colorado.

The Selection Committee consists of:

Doug Ottewill
Mile High Sports

Tim Simmons
Vice Chair

Sam Adams -  Sports Commentator, Writer

Patti Arnold - Grand Junction Sentinal

Gary Baines - Colorado Golf Journal

Jim Benton - Rocky Mountain News

Bert Borgmann - Colorado HS Activities Association

Mike Brohard - Loveland Reporter Herald

Irv Brown - Retired

Mike Burrows - The Denver Post

Luis Canela - Entravision

Jim Conrad - Sportscaster

Pete Deluca - Trinidad State Junior College

Terry Frei - The Denver Post

Drew Goodman - ROOT Sports

Judy Hildner - Pueblo Chieftain, Retired

Norm Jones - Sportscaster

Vic Lombardi - Altitude Sports & Entertainment

Dorothy Mauk - The Denver Post, Retired

Marcia Neville - University of Colorado, Denver

Tony Phifer - Sports Writer

Jay Ritchie - TeeToGreen / AFA Radio

Todd Romero - Altitude Sports & Entertainment

Patrick Saunders - Denver Post

Les Shapiro - Sportscaster

Gerry Valerio - Max Preps

Susie Wargin - 103.5 The Fox Radio

Ron Zappollo - KUSA-TV

Larry Zimmer - KOA Radio, Retired


Nominations are accepted from the public throughout the year. The deadline for submitting a nomination form is October 1st for the following year. The voting meeting of the Selection Committee is held each October followed by an Induction Banquet in April. Once an individual has been nominated, the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame keeps the information on file for future consideration. There is no need to re-nominate an individual.

Nomination forms are available from the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Executive Office, 720.258.3535, or feel free to print the nomination form below.

Nomination for Induction

Nominations are accepted for individuals who have merited recognition and distinction in sports and who have brought fame and glory to the State of Colorado through outstanding accomplishments in the following areas (local, state & national):

Athletic Participation
Administration/Working with the Game
Other: Promotion, Refereeing, Ownership, Reporting, Training

Download Nomination Form:
MS Word Format
Adobe Acrobat Format

Adobe Acrobat Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader

With the free Adobe® Acrobat® Reader® software, you can view and print Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) files. To download this free program, click the link above.

All nominations should be sent to:
The Colorado Sports Hall of Fame
Sports Authority Field at Mile High
1701 Bryant St.
Suite 500
Denver, Colorado 80204

Nomination / Selection process is as follows:
Fill out the form and include any letters of recommendation/support, articles, biographies and/or photos and return it to the Hall of Fame. You may mail it or drop it off during business hours at the Hall of Fame Museum or at theSports Authority Field Stadium Management office. You are also welcome to send it over electronically if you have it that way.
Once the Hall of Fame recieves the file, it is forwarded it on to the selection committee, made up of approximately 29 sports and media representatives from around the state. All nominations are kept on file from year to year. We have nearly 200 nominees on file, and we choose 4-6 inductees each year.

Mission Statement

To honor, by public acknowledgment or commemoration, those individuals who merit recognition and distinction for their exploits, accomplishments and leadership in sports and athletic endeavors in the state of Colorado. Equally, to build and make available programs and support for youth in our state, to cultivate character and citizenship as they grow toward leadership in our state and throughout the Nation.